Black Midi Shares New Song ‘Welcome To Hell’ And Reveals New Album Details


Black Midi shared a new single today (May 9) – check out ‘Welcome To Hell’ below.

It was unveiled as the lead single from their upcoming new album, “Hellfire”, which will be released July 15 via Rough Trade Records. You can pre-order the album here.

‘Welcome To Hell’ tells the story of “the excess of a soldier shocked by a shell and his military discharge”, according to a press release.

Check out the new video for ‘Welcome To Hell’, which was directed by Gustaf Holtenäs, here:

‘Hellfire’ Track list
1. “Hellfire”

2. ‘Sugar/Tzu’
3. “Eat Men Eat”
4. “Welcome to Hell”
5. “Always”
6. “The race is about to begin”
7. “Dangerous Liaisons”
8. “The Defense”
9. “27 Questions”

Speaking about the new album, guitarist and vocalist Geordie Greep said, “If ‘Cavalcade’ [their last album] was a drama, ‘Hellfire’ is like an epic action movie”.

A statement adds that it “dives into the overlapping themes of pain, loss and anguish”.

The stories on the new album are written in the third person and “tell the stories of morally suspect characters”. A statement adds: “There are direct dramatic monologues, flamboyantly appealing to our degraded sense of right and wrong. You never really know whether to laugh or be horrified.

“Almost everyone depicted is some kind of bastard,” Greep continues. “Almost everything I write comes from a real thing, something that I’ve been through and exaggerated and written about. I don’t believe in hell, but all that old world madness is great for songs, I I’ve always loved movies and anything that depicts hell. Dante’s Inferno. When Homer goes to hell in The simpsons. There is a robot in hell Futurama. Isaac Bashevis Singer, a Jewish writer who portrays a Satan interfering in people’s lives. There are plenty !

Cameron Picton of the band said, “There’s a lot of love and stuff like that on Hellfire. There is a tender underside to every song. Darkness stands out strongly, there’s Hell and Satan and murders and unsavory things, but every song has both light and dark at the same time.

You can check out all of Black Midi’s tour dates, which include a headline show at Somerset House, London, and one in Central Park, New York, below:

Black Midi Tour Dates

10 – Grenoble, FR – La Bobine
11 – Milan, IT – Santeria
12 – Zurich, CH – Mascot
14 – Vienna, AT – Flex
15 – Prague, CR – Meetfactory
16 – Berlin, Germany – Festsaal Kreuzberg
18 – Lille, FR – Aircraft
31 – Istanbul, TR – Zorlu PSM Jazz Festival

30 – Bucharest, RO – Club control

13 – London, UK – Summer Series at Somerset House
21 – Boston, MA – Paradise Rock Club
23 – Asbury Park, New Jersey – Asbury Lanes
24 – New York, NY – Central Park SummerStage

Get tickets to their concerts in the UK and Europe here and tickets for US dates here.


Comments are closed.