The Wonder Years Celebrate Family on “Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)” and Announce Seventh Album


The Wonder Years have announced their seventh album, “The Hum Goes On Forever”, alongside the release of a new single titled “Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)”.

The track was written by frontman Dan ‘Soupy’ Campbell as a dedication to his first son, Wyatt, who was born in 2019 – a year after The Wonder Years released their sixth album, ‘Sister Cities’.

In a press release, Campbell said: “It’s about the polarizing forces of love and anxiety that come with being a new parent – simultaneously being so thrilled they’re here, the miraculous nature of their existence, but afraid of any means you might fail them.

“It’s about raising children in a world that seems to be actively ending and how to make them feel safe and cared for despite that. He tries to breathe in the small, beautiful moments and exhale all the overwhelming thoughts of despair.

Check out the accompanying music video for “Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)” – directed by Benjamin Lieber and produced by Campbell – below, then read a statement from Campbell that details the song’s themes:

“The Hum Goes On Forever” will be released on September 23 via the band’s own label, Loneliest Place On Earth, as well as Hopeless Records. “Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)” is the third single to be shared, following “Oldest Daughter” in April and “Summer Clothes” last month.

Although the new record is The Wonder Years’ first in four years, Campbell has kept busy since the release of “Sister Cities.” In January 2019, he teamed up with The Early November frontman Ace Enders to release “Clear Eyes Fanzine: Season One, Episodes 1-6”, an EP of songs written from the perspective of Friday night lights characters.

In May, Campbell released ‘Routine Maintenance’ – the second album from his solo project, Aaron West And The Roaring Twenties – followed by the ‘Live From Asbury Park’ album in July 2020. Last November he released the first album under his own name, ‘The Lives of Others’.

You can check out the cover art and tracklist for “The Hum Goes On Forever” below and find pre-orders. here. Notable in the track listing is “Cardinals II”, a follow-up to the lead single from 2015’s “No Closer To Heaven”.

1. “Doors I Painted Closed”
2. “Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)”
3. “Elder Daughter”
4. ‘Cardinals II’
5. “The Paris of Nowhere”
6. “Summer clothes”
7. “Lost in the Lights”
8. “Songs About Death”
9. “Low Tide”
10. “Laura and the Beehive”
11. “Old friends like lost teeth”
12. “You’re the reason I don’t want the world to end”


Comments are closed.